So now, the end is….already passed.

Unless you’ve been living in a closed off bubble for the past few weeks–although entirely possible; I’ve met people with little concept of pop culture but I love them anyway–you probably heard that this week was ushered in by the last episode of a little show named Lost.

I watched Lost from the very beginning with the opening of Jack Shephard’s eye to the horrors of a plane crash on a tropical beach. It kept my attention for a few seasons, but when I started college my television viewership plummeted. Thanks to online advances, watching the show was fairly easy, but by sophomore year I just didn’t have the energy to keep up with it. So I let it slide until the end of last season, when I watched the ever-confusing season finale. This season I was fortunate enough to be off campus–code phrase for no nightly homework–so I had time to watch the final season and strive for some type of understanding to black smoke, polar bears, time travel, and strange hatches with attractive Australian men inside of them. Of course, understanding has never been Lost’s strong suit, and the show has thrived on confusion probably more than any other show I can think of in modern times.

When the finale, a four-and-a-half hour love story of a send-off, rolled around this past Sunday, I was hoping to have a few answers. Where did the island come from? Where did the polar bears come from? Why did Walt seem to have magical powers in the first season and then we never hear about it again? How did Sawyer and Kate continuously look so attractive despite little showering? But alas, there were no real answers to the secrets, other than the discussion that the parallel world we were introduced to was the way for all of them to come together in the afterlife. Okay. It makes since. But shouldn’t the bigger question be why would they NOT remember each other in the after life and need a way to find each other?

Despite a disappointment that none of my main questions were answered, I found it surprisingly satisfying. Even though we don’t know the answers, in a way it’s nice to know there is a happy afterlife ending for all of them, where the island doesn’t really matter and the only thing that does is each other.

Jack’s long-dead father tells him that the time on the island and with those people were the most important times of his life. It seems like some great big life lesson, in a way, that there is some phase of life that will be most important in the end. Kind of makes you wonder which phase in your life will matter…

Okay, enough being philosophical. There were plenty of other shows that ended their seasons over the past few weeks, although I have to say this finale season has been rather strange. Apparently the cliff-hanger is no longer in fashion. I already know that Derek Shepherd survived surgery on Grey’s and that Matt Damon’s character comes back to Liz Lemon on 30 Rock. I know that Lily and Marshall will embark on parenthood in the next season of How I Met Your Mother and that Penny rejects Sheldon once again on The Big Bang Theory.

Despite cliff-hangers being extremely frustrating (anyone remember when we discovered Rachel was pregnant or when we didn’t know which guy Ugly Betty was going to choose?), they’re kind of expected, kind of nice in a way. They leave us with something to ponder over the summer and something to look forward to in the fall. When the seasons start it will just be business as usual, which is almost a little sad.

Oh, well. I guess I’ll just resort to the cliffhangers of life.

Leave a Reply

